PARAKEETS ON ICE

not skating or dancing but eating or drinking if you like of the ice. They are 'halsbandparkieten' Psittacula kramen, exotic birds from Africa and South-Asia.
The day certainly started grey and cold. When I look now outside there is a bit of blue in the air.
I walked in the morning along the pond where the heron stood, feet in water, who was not at all disturbed by me coming very close.
From there through Ockenburgh park to the Solleveld. Would I find there one of the foxes? I did not, nor a rabbit in the snow fields.
On my way back I first saw a Nile goose, a very strange sight indeed, high in a tree, standing before a big hole in it. Looking at the right, at the left, chasing away an innocent crow, spreading her wings. I thought the blip is found, but some minutes later I saw the parakeets landing on the ice of the pond there. First two and a third joined them. Eating a little bit of the ice.
Nowadays I feel sometimes like I am dreaming eyes wide open.

My haiku:

We only chop now
The dead wood he said looking
Through his spyglasses

They had a pause, sitting in the van and we had a little conversation about the birds they had seen. The bats are overthere in the woods, he told me. But he had not seen them. And the owl that is supposed to live here? Neither!
The birds were mating already and that was rather early in this cold season.

And the latin proverb:

Hear the other side.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.