DID I CYCLE THROUGH THE DUNES

in the hope to get a glimpse of a wandering fox? I did and I did not.
It was freezing cold in the morning and a stiff wind blew and still I did enjoy my tour, although it was slightly too long.
I admired the changes there are still made in Scheveningen to make it again a sweeping beach resort. If that is what they aim for. A use of the lightest blue pastel colour for lamp-posts and benches.
My way back I choose through the Westbroekpark, almost deserted by humans but a pleasant park with pool for the waterbirds. The gulls, the coots and a grebe, a smart one who had caught a little fish and when a gull flew near to catch it from her beak she dived immediately under water.
I know a lot of gulls and their dresses but there was one that I found very attractive and she let me come nearby.
At one moment I heard the sound of geese approaching through the air. Where were they heading? Over my head they flew, I counted six or seven in formation and the two pictures I could take are dear to me although not really fit for blipland.

My haiku:

Go south, find warmth,
Come back when spring is blooming
Generations did

And the proverb from the collection in the book by Davidoff:

He/she who rides behind another does not travel when he/she pleases.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.