CHANGING AGAIN

the weather. Bright sunshine! An amazing change after the dark and cold yesterday.
But before going out Piet Hein and I cleaned one corner of our living room. That finished Piet Hein went to the sea and I now furnished with oatmeal and a bread to Madestein. To the waterbirds. The oatmeal for the coots and the swans came eating out my hand the bread. I would not easily have done that but seeing other persons do that there I dared to copy them.
A bit biten my hand however is. That is not bad but what scared me was the fact that when the bread was dealed out some bold swans were not satisfied and wanted to ambush me. When I walked away they came after me.
Of course I managed to avoid them in the end.
It seemed the only way to feed the swans giving it to them directly in their beaks due to the fact that the coots or the gulls for that matter otherwise would have eaten every bit of it. The swans with their long necks have no chance at all.
The goose in the picture had a larger piece of bread but the gulls came after her and did steal it away. That's why.

My haiku:

They don't speak at all
And still I do understand
What they want from me

And the proverb:

The wheel that does the squeaking, is the one that gets the grease.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.