Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Red, Yellow, or Brown?

Those, along with blue, were my bird choices today.  So I decided on red because who doesn't love a brigth red bird?  The cardinals have all molted now and are in fresh, perfect plumage with the males looking especially dapper.  

As you can see, it is a dreary day here with rather poor light conditions.  The rain will be starting any minute and my plan for the rest of the the day is to sit in front of the fire and read.  

I chatted with bestie, Ellen, this morning while I was sitting in the hide.  We are still waiting to see if we can get together for Thanksgiving.  We decided to just wait until closer to the day and see how we feel.  We're both at about the same level of risk tolerance where covid is concerned so neither of us in inclined to do anything that might not feel safe.  And Hubs and I are still going to make a turkey regardless, so whether it is three (Hubs, SIL and I) or 4 makes no difference.  If she comes, we will most likely wear masks in the house until it's time to eat, and space out around our big dining room table.  I fully expect that this week will see our country top 200,000 cases per day.  

Hubs was able to see MIL today.  He is the only member of our house who has been medically vetted to see her in person since the facility now has several covid cases.  He has to wear full PPE and get tested weekly for Covid - which allows him to see her for one two-hour in person visit a week.  No hugs but they play cards, toss a ball, look at pictures and visit.  She is doing amazingly well and he said she was very happy and engaged today.  

Looking forwarrd to talking to my parents tomorrow morning.  Oregon (where they live) has just gone into lockdown for 2 weeks, so of course I am worried.  But I know they are being careful and taking lots of precautions.  We are a family that has embraced masks, handwashing, social distancing and all other precautions.

The incumbent is still refusing to concede the election or to have the President-elect receive briefings, but he has made a few side-handed references that make me think reality may be seeping its way into his thinking.  I doubt he'll ever give up his story of having been robbed, which is kind of pathetic when you think about it.  Oh well.  

Stay safe, be kind.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.