Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Summer fruits

I know I've blipped them before but we can hardly keep up with the number of raspberries we are still getting. The flavour is lovely too.
Wednesday today so I walked to church first thing. I was doing sacristan cover as the normal sacristan head an appointment so I gave myself plenty of time. What I failed to do though was take church keys with me so I had to hang around until the Rector turned up. All went well though, I didn't forget anything vital!
On my way home again I popped into the charity shop opposite the church which had only reopened yesterday. I found a stack of salad sized plates for our wedding dinner service dating from 1975. It's a modern (or modern in 1975) Royal Doulton design. We don't have any that size and here were 8 of them. I was delighted.
We went to meet Kathryn at the new cafe bistro at Saughton Winter Gardens for lunch. Kathryn had booked and requested an outdoor table near a heater, which we got. The halogen heaters were keeping our upper body nice and cosy, - we were wearing thick fleeces too - but our legs under the table were still open to the wind. Still we were eating outside in Scotland in December and it was dry and sunny, to expect hot as well was perhaps pushing it. Lovely lunch, good friendly service too.
Lovely to catch up with Kathryn as an adult individual rather than while she was focusing on being a mum.

Keep safe and well everybody, wonderful news about the vaccine today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.