Views of my world

By rosamund

Pottery

Went to my first pottery class and loved it. It was so much fun, used coils to make a wee potty vase type thing which I'll get to polish and add more intricate detail to next week. Not sure what order the firing and glazing happens in or how much of either is required but I'm really looking forward to the end product as I've never had a piece of clay which has been fired and glazed before to achieve that finished look, think the furthest I ever got was in school when you painted it with readymix paint then varnished it with PVA, not quite the same thing!

The class is in a quirky wee tiny studio in an old wash house complete with turret, arched windows and cool fireplaces. I'm looking forward to a shot on the wheel too but I'm a wee bit scared of it as I've never done I before and it looks hard. Might do some simple tapas bowls just starting with balls of clay and pinching. Got lots of ideas, can't wait to try them all out! It's so much fun!

I had a good day at work too redesigning one of our learning environments after a recent paint job and in preparation for a load of new furniture due to arrive within the week. It's fun playing with drapes, plants and curtains trying to create a natural, inspiring play space for the children to explore. More to do tomorrow so must get an early night and hope Fred doesn't wake me up wanting out at 6am!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.