Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Vai con Dio, cara Luisa...

Go with God, beloved Luisa.

Today, it seems like heaven is weeping, leaving behind tiny delicate drops of sorrow and beauty. We learned this morning that my husband's cousin (third) Luisa succumbed to cancer on the 22nd of this month. We first learned that she was fighting cancer in her lungs and brains last April 26 and I felt as if my heart was breaking for her and her family when we got the news. So, this morning when we learned that she had finally lost her battle, I wept.

I did not know Luisa well but I always felt a connection with her. Even though her English was poor and my Italian even worse, we always seemed to be comfortable with each other - the comfort that doesn't need words. When we last saw her in 2007, when we were saying our goodbyes, she hugged me so fiercely ... and when we pulled away, both of us had tears in our eyes. She gave us a lovely white vase which we carefully hand-carried back home and which sits in my office where I see it every day. It will always have special meaning.

So today when I looked out and saw tiny drops of rain clinging to the pine branches, I knew that this would be my blip. Because I think heaven was weeping too - for another life lost too soon.

My message today is this - never wait to do the things that bring you joy and always remember to tell those close to you that you love them. Life is unpredictable - don't wait.

xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.