Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Farewell...for now

This concludes my coverage of the Alternative Olympic Games - hope you've enjoyed it as much as I have! I debated on what image to post today, and ultimately went with this one...because, after all, Team Titmouse has been working on their Closing Ceremony routine all week. I posted 8 other images from today, starting with my first runner up on Flickr. Because Team Blue Jay has been working hard on their closing routines, too, I have included an appropriate number of shots of them; along with Rudy House Finch proposing to Fenny, Team WB Nuthatch doing an aerial swoop...and one of the nefarious Team Squirrel members, breaking into yet another vending machine!

I wrapped up AOG coverage early, in order to head up north with two birder friends of mine, on the search for short-eared owls. Happy to report, that just after the sun went below the horizon, we saw not one but several SO owls, swooping and hunting over the frozen wetlands - totally thrilling and way too dark for photos. Also saw rough-legged hawks, red-tailed hawks and harriers.

On an much unhappier note, I lost my footing in the house while carrying my D600, Big Daddy AND the new 105 lens. I think the D600 is okay. Big Daddy still works but just barely and will need to go in for repairs. The 105 didn't fare well at all and is making an ominous rattling. Fortunately, I purchased "drop and fall" insurance for it (foreshadowing, perhaps) so I will contact the insurance carrier and arrange to have it shipped back where they will either repair or replace it. I am debating on Big Daddy whether to have it repaired or to look at replacing it. I'm a bit sick about the whole thing at the moment. Part of my permanent legacy after the brain tumor is a pretty severe balance impairment. Usually I am careful but today I was overly tired and I was careless - the result being badly damaged camera equipment. A big part of me wants to collapse in a heap of tears and feel sorry for myself. But that would be totally pointless, not to mention silly and selfish.

So, instead, I shall reflect on how much fun the last few weeks of AOG have been. And I may as well toss out an idea ... what do you think about hosting a week of AOG Games sometime over the summer (which would be winter for your folks in the Southern Hemisphere)? I'm thinking it would be fun...

Signing off...

Debbi (destroyer of lenses)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.