Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Left Hand Canyon

I decided to drive up into the foothills today for a change of scenery.  It was cold here and I watched the temperature go down on my car thermometer as I gained altitude.  By the time I got to Jamestown (bottom left), it was 28F and another 5 miles uphill, it was 24F and snowing.  That's when I decided to turn around.   I had to pass up several photo ops because there was nowhere to stop along the road.  It's much easier on the bike!

The top right image is a look into the St. Vrain Valley from the road that leaves the foothills.  I live about 10 miles straight ahead.  As you can see, there are no mountains in this direction (east).  It's high plains, about 4000 ft. above sea level, all the way to Kansas.  I'll blip this again on a clearer day.

I am grateful that I got out today, even though I didn't get any exercise.  After our cold, snowy day tomorrow, the forecast looks promising for biking by Thursday . :-))

Thanks to everyone for your visits and for stars and hearts yesterday and today!  I appreciate all of them!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.