A Blip-Postcard from ...........

........... the side of one of our hotel's ornamental lakes here in the Dominican Republic.

This Green Heron (Butorides virescens) flits between the outside lakes and ponds and the turtle pool inside the hotel reception - I have a few inside shots but his colours don't show up half so well.

He is about 15" (47 cms) tall and I know they are common in the USA and Caribbean but I have never seen them in the UK. My friend, "Snifferdog" - lol beat me to it for the BlipBigYear challenge some time ago but I think this little heron is still worth seing again.

21/52 of my personal birdie challenge 2013

Thank you for all your wonderful comments, stars and hearts for HW yesterday .... we are both very happy!!!!! :-)


Postcard 8/16

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.