A Blip-Postcard from ...........

........ an ECSTATIC BikerBear ...

..................a BikerBear running around doing a *happy happy dance* and a lot of *arm waving*!!!!!

Please look larger .....

I saw a HUMMINGBIRD in the hotel grounds ...... not only did I see it but I managed to get 157 photos of it - on the flipside, of those 157 only 5 were worth a second look and only 3 worth keeping (*sad face*) - here you have the best two.

I know it's not as clear as it could be and not as technically good as my good friend Deb (Life's Little Moments) always seems to capture but I am still thrilled to bits.

This hummie - the Vervain Hummingbird (Mellisuga minima) - is reputed to be the second smallest bird in the world (after the Bee Hummingbird) measuring around 2 inches (5 cms) from tip of bill (beak) to end of tail and weighing in at about 2 gms (0.08 ounce) .......

I was about 35/40 feet away using my 300mm lens handheld - and was actually very lucky to see it while I was trying to get shots of a small Bananaquit - initially I thought it was a large insect flitting very quickly from flower to flower - when I saw it through my camera lens I realised what it was - woohooooooooooo (no sugar feeders here - had to try and catch it "native"!!!)

Postcard 10/16
On the day blip


22/52 of my personal birdie challenge 2013

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.