Red Squirrel

By JJRW

A Mere Shadow ...

.... of its former self.

LARGER SHADOW.

I knew I was going to be at Denver in the Fens today. I knew of the renowned Denver Mill, which has been one of the last remaining working mills in this country. I was determined to blip it, and had been expecting to see it looking like THIS!

What I was unaware of was that last October a major tragedy had struck - one of the sails had fallen and shattered, leaving it inoperable. Since then the remaining sails and tail have been removed, and it looks a sorry state.
Since it's a listed building the Norfolk Historic Building Trust, who own it, are aiming to restore it - a major project.

A short distance away is the equally well-known Denver Sluice Complex, a major factor in the control of river levels to as far south as Essex, and which has quite a story of its own. I took a drive to that also. It consists of 2 sluices, the 'Old sluice', as shown in this shot and the 'New' sluice, to the right in this one.
The road passes over the Old sluice so I walked up and took some shots from either direction from the top. Here's downstream and this is upstream. I have to say, seeing those boats made me wish I could just get on one and head off down the river to who knows where ...... escape from everyday life for a while ... what a lovely thought!

How odd: A year ago today I blipped the water mill at Bawburgh, today I blip a wind mill (or what's left of it ...)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.