Alba

I belatedly realised that not all Blippers resided in Edinburgh, and arranged to meet some in London while I was in the area. I had a terrific time talking and photographing London with Akkuv and andreasone. The weather was really grim, so we ended up in the British Museum which I somehow had never been inside before. These two fine gentlemen let me borrow a couple of their exotic Nikon lenses: the 14-24 f/2.8 ultra wide angle and the gorgeous 85 f/1.4. The former was a lot of fun but will take a while to master. As for the latter... wow, instant portrait impact: the background just melts away! As seen on this simple portrait of AkkuV. I told him that I've tried the 85 f/1.8 and thought it wasn't that much different to the cheap and cheerful 50 f/1.8 I already had. So I was blown away how qualitatively different the 85 f/1.4 seemed.

I couldn't resist finding another subject, and managed to persuade this member of staff at the British Museum.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.