The second half of life..

By twigs

Twizel frost & fog

Ahhhh.....so this is what they mean when they say that Twizel is tough in winter.....not that we're in winter yet.  The minus 5 degree temperature that I woke to though suggested otherwise.  What a scene to look out the window and see though........a blanket of fog rendering the mountains in every direction virtually invisible.  If you look closely at this image though you'll see two people on the far shore preparing to set up for a morning's fishing and two or three workers at the salmon farm over the water (some in high viz) getting into their day's work.  Life goes on regardless of the cold.  To be fair, it didn't last too long and by around 9.30 it was pretty much all cleared up, the sun was shining and it was - and continued to be all day - a beautiful day.

An idea has been developing in my mind, an idea sprung from images I saw last winter of magnificent hoar frosts from this area.  The mixture of the fog and the frost this morning made it very clear how they are produced.  Am I brave enough to return in the mid-winter to witness it though?  Time will tell.

Yesterday I had a hiccup with my laptop power.  Tonight I'm fully powered up at Kurow campground so have moved the image I posted yesterday to extras and the image I'd wanted to post has now been posted to it's rightful place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.