eat elsewhere

There was a lunch-visit to a restaurant this lunchtime for a colleague's birthday-lunch despite it being their birthday tomorrow. Despite it having been less than impressive in the past Indigo Yard was chosen for some reason. Wouldn't bother going again... it's maybe worsened by being a large table but I'm sure everyone would rather have had their food as each plate was ready in order to be able to eat it warm and I'm sure Pauline would have preferred not to have had a small sliver of metal hiding in her noodles.

The almost-two-hour lunch without any sort of proper walk didn't do much for the day-length, especially when a boss started bleating just after six that he wanted some help and HAD TO GO in a few minutes. People often HAVE TO GO in a few minutes but often cannot because of business needs so it was pleasant to see a boss so inconvenienced after weeks of frequent stupid-finish times for me based on requests issued by someone putting on their coat whilst speaking and waltzing out of the door immediately afterwards. The moral of the story appeared to be "don't knock bringing data back to Excel using MSQuery as it's sometimes the quickest way to make SQL behave and to get sensible data out of MSAccess" which I shall perhaps write on the board behind my desk alongside my current excess-hours-state though it shall have to wait until Monday as I'm now off again for the rest of the week. The three meetings I was originally meant to have today (and which warranted the shifting-about of holidays) had been reduced to one twenty-minute meetinglet and a ten-second chat by the time I logged in this morning but the lack of fixed-time things-to-do-meant I could sign out for three quarters of an hour in the afternoon whilst I tried to work out what was happening to my home email, the eventual reason being Eclipse deciding to action my domain transfer request immediately rather than at the end of the month as I'd asked. I would complain at them but as I'm taking my business elsewhere there's little they and their sneakily-snuck-in monthly download limit can do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.