Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

Another rug finished ....

... and since neither of the daughters are interested in giving it a home, I have gained a nice fluffy bedside rug.  I rather like it - it's cheerful.  The greens haven't come out very well in the photo, which was taken at bedtime!

When I picked up this partly completed rug (shown here largely as it came to me - I had added very few knots at this stage) and started sorting out the colours, I thought I was going to run out of the red and orange wools.  I even got as far as checking on eBay to see if it was possible to buy thrums still - not really was the answer.  But in the end, there was just enough.  On the other hand, there are still large quantities (though not enough for another full size rug) of the blue, yellow and green wools - not sure what I'm going to do with them.

I also today made another fabric basket - to a slightly different design, without handles.  It's not exactly the size and shape I want - I miscalculated the dimensions when cutting it out.  So there'll be more.  Including a very large one to store the left over wool from the rug!  My daughter has suggested I should open an Etsy store to sell the finished projects - I warned her that actually I intended to fill the house with them, ready for her and her sister to sort out when we shuffle off the mortal coil.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.