Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

Rugs

I finished the dolphin rug a few days ago, including sewing some binding onto the back.  Not sure what I'm going to do with it - neither daughter wants it ;( 

I decided to have a go at another rug next.  This one is more challenging for various reasons.  

   1.  I can't remember where it came from, but someone else had started it - which always makes a project more difficult.  There are only a few of my stitches in the rug so far.  
   2.  I think it is made from thrums - the bag is full of mixed short lengths of wool, which have to be cut into multiple shorter lengths to hook onto the canvas.  You do this by winding them around a piece of wood with a groove in one side, then cutting along the groove.  Not in the photo are multiple plastic containers (mainly saved from ice cream consumption) with the short lengths, which I have attempted to sort into mixtures of a similar shade - relatively easy with the blue, but more difficult with the green and yellow - what do you do with the "yellowish green" threads?  And where does red turn into orange?
   3.  The design is rather abstract, and the blocks of colour are (as you can see) made up from rather random mixtures of wool of the same or similar shades. I am not good at "random" - it goes against my OCD nature.

All in all, a more challenging project - it should keep me occupied for a few more evenings.  You'll probably be subjected to more blips of the same subject as the project continues.

Edit - found a better reference to using thrums to make a rug

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.