Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

Serviced

Another trip to Beccles today, to pick up my sewing machine.  My sewing machine was an 18th birthday present from my grandmother, and is much more solid than most you can buy these days.  The chap who does the servicing at the sewing machine shop said it was a lovely machine to work on.  No major faults, just needed general cleaning and oiling.  It is definitely running much more smoothly - and the tension on this project was fine.

This is a basket to go in a basket - to store some of my many smaller pieces of material in a way that allows them to be readily visible.  I have been planning to make something like this for a while, and thought it would be a good project to try out the newly serviced machine.  Once again, using up stuff already in my cupboard.  I've made it from the same material* as the etui.  Back last year I bought some interfacing online which turned out to be much too rigid for the job it was bought for, so which had been stored away until I could find a use for it - just right for adding rigidity to the sides of this basket.  

I'm happy with the result, which only took a couple of hours.  I think I'll make at least one more.

* the material is not quite as vintage as the sewing machine, but it feels satisfying using something I have had for some many years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.