Llangrannog

There was a bit of brightness this morning, as forecast, although we didn't get up early. I was awake at 5 and sneezing badly, so tried to scramble over the top of Jon without waking him (the joy's of a caravan bed) to get out and find my hayfever tablets. Then laid for an hour before dozing back off.

We were eventually up and ready to go out at about 10, the sky was greying, but no rain at that point. So we went back to Aberaeron where we had fish and chips the other night. We wandered around and then found a hotel doing coffee. It is such a pretty town with almost every house painted in bright colours - but not much in the way of shops. I did treat myself though, even though this holiday has been on a much tighter than normal budget. I decided I hadn't spent on anything else, so bought a lazy Jack's sweatshirt with 'Cardigan Bay' printed on the back. I had one years ago with North Norfolk on the back. This one is a mid blue. It might get blipped if I'm desperate in the next couple of days!

It tried to rain while we had our coffee, but passed over. Then we had a honey ice cream - we had one in New Quay on our first day and it was just as nice. After our 2 hours parking was up, we decided to drive to Llangrannog. Another small bay with a jumble of tiny cottages, situated down some spidery lanes, almost impassable. But we got there eventually, and parked in a field they offer for free parking, and walked the last stretch down to the seafront.

Lots of people were swimming, but I even kept my coat on. They are made of strong stuff round here. We watched an older couple- I would say in their 70s, walk down and plunge themselves into the sea for a swim. Very brave, especially as the water trickles in off the mountains!

We had lunch, read our books sitting on the beach (fully clothed) and took a few photos of the village for my friend Andy who honeymooned in The Ship over 40 years ago. After a climb up to view the coastline, we went back down for our 2nd ice cream of the day - (well we are on holiday, so whether we get sun or not, we have to have ice cream - I had blueberry swirl) then headed back home to our caravan.

The rain started shortly after we got in, so we'll timed, and we made the most of our dry day!

We had had messages from Henry, who has taken himself off on his own for a mini break in the Peak District. All planned and researched himself, he has sent us a photo of his set up - tarp and bivvy hidden somewhere in the undergrowth, and his one pot meal of what looked like noodles and hotdogs. He hopes to get some good wildlife photos. I just hope he gets dry weather. He really is his father's son.

Now a game or two....yahtzee, scrabble and cribbage!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.