Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Bountiful

I set my alarm this morning and headed off to Craigies Farm for my allotted fruit picking slot. What a lovely morning it was too. I started with cherries, always my favourite and absolutely delicious. The branches were packed with beautiful fruits. I filled my punnet and moved on. Next stop was strawberries, it's so much easier to pick them now they are on raised troughs, punnet was filled with huge berries in no time. There are lots and lots of unripe berries on the way, it's clearly still the start of the season. I passed the raspberry tunnels which likewise had lots of fruit both ready and to come. I wasn't picking them today, well, only a couple to test obvs! My main target was the blackcurrants and I don't think I have ever seen the bushes so tightly packed with fruit. I picked my three punnets and headed back to the gate to pay. I must have a good sense of weight judgment, i had just over 1kg each of strawberries and cherries and 3.2kg of blackcurrants. The whole lot took me just about an hour to pick. Isobel will be pleased to learn that the first kg of blackcurrants is dripping overnight for jelly. Her favourite.
I rewarded myself with a bacon roll and coffee in the outdoor cafe area. It was very busy with families but the whole experience felt very safe - not only was it out of doors but people kept apart.
On my way home I popped into Lidl to pick up sugar and lemons so now the production starts.
I went to the Gyle this afternoon and renewed my phone deal, switching to a sim only as my Huawei is still doing fine after 2 years. Nadine, I remember talking about Huwaei with you when we went to Craigie two years ago. I must have either just got it or been planning to.
I boiled up the first lot of blackcurrants and made some inroads into the cherries before dinner. Yum! I love the cherries from Craigies, quite the nicest I've tasted. Somehow, it doesn't seem very Scottish but I suppose polytunnels make all the difference.
We had dinner in the garden again tonight it's so nice to have that as an option.
Keep safe and well everybody.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.