A past life

Forgive a little self indulgence.

During the week I was searching one of the cupboards in the study for something (which I believe I eventually found), when I chanced upon the album in which I have filed finisher's certificates from when I defined myself as a racer, rather than as a runner. Nostalgia for my younger days as I looked through, and I chanced upon this one.

I was always very proud of this certificate, as this was my best placing in an open race. It also was about the same time as had been recorded a year previously by Lorraine Moller in winning the women's race. That year (my first attempt at the race) I had thought I was doing very well as I could see Moller just in front of me throughout the long winding climb to the top of the Waitakeres. At about 35 km she decided to stretch out along the ridge and then downhill to the finish. I basically lost 15 minutes in 15 km on her.

So to get that sort of time only a year later was very satisfying.

I have chosen to call this a past life, as I am back to being a runner (who also walks), and I have no little interest in being a racer any more. Every now and then I wonder, until sanity returns. This sort of thing is, and needs to stay, in the past.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.