Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

The fairest of them all

It is kind of hard to resist photographing the cardinals sometimes. They are just so stunningly beautiful and so ... red! In the background, you see a female house finch, perhaps one of our drabbest birds. I kind of like the contrast between the two. I didn't have a lot of time for photography today, and I didn't get anything that really said "blip ME!" so you get ... a cardinal and a house finch. If you look closely, you will see the cardinal is a bit put out by sharing the stage with a lesser bird than himself...

Hubs and I worked on a rocky hillside on our property today, clearing out thick undergrowth and shrubs. Our plan is to clear enough of it that we can put some topsoil amongst the huge boulders and plant some native flowering plants. It is exhausting work, but we both enjoyed being outside. And perhaps more so because we are being told that more snow is on the way tomorrow. The forecasters are being quite cautious, saying it could be "several inches to a lot" which is about as vague as you can be!

Thanks for all the comments on my curry blip yesterday. For those amongst you who've never tried a Thai curry, I highly recommend giving it a try. It is quite different from Indian curries (which I also happen to love) and some who don't like the Indian curries may find that they like the Thai curries very much. Anyhoo... last night's Massaman Curry was delicious, rivaling anything I've had in a restaurant! Thanks again to fellow blipper, JensPhotos for sharing the recipe. It was really yummy - in fact, we are having leftovers tonight. I may try it with chicken the next time I make it, which will be soon. Makes me glad I planted some Thai basil seeds already!

I'll check in later. Hoping you all had a great weekend!

xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.