The second half of life..

By twigs

Pied shag

A cute wee fella taking advantage of a man-made vantage point......one of the driftwood teepees that appear along the Boulder Bank.  After my long drive over the past few days I was keen to get out to the Boulder Bank to stretch my legs, smell the salt air an check on the wild life.  I wasn't disappointed....see extras.  I'd begun to think I might not unpack the van but instead, continue over to Golden Bay for a couple of days.  It seems the forecast isn't so good for the next few days though so GB continues to wait......

Had a frustrating episode with my mower again.  Still couldn't get it to start so took it back to the shop that serviced it two months ago then fixed the handle which broke a week or so ago.  When the strapping guys from the workshop also couldn't get it going they delivered the bad news......it's (blown?) its coil ie the bit that creates the spark that fires the motor was shot.  I could get a new one but I'd have to wait........or I could buy a new mower.  I bought a new mower.  Not happy - my old mower has served me so well for years........serviced annually, run pretty well given its age and been a solid and trusty friend.  It did have a new (second hand) motor put on it a few years back and a local chap, D, continued to service it when he took over the original serviceman's business.  He was awesome, but we received the news in August that D had been become very ill very quickly and passed away.  SUch a shock to so many people.  I can't help but think my mower was mourning too and that's why it gave up.  The good news is that it will be given to a local scout group who will be able to pull it apart, tinker with it and hopefully learn some of the skills that will ensure old motors are looked at after by the next generation of D's.

Have to admit though - the new mower does make a very nice cut and is soooooo easy to start ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.