The second half of life..

By twigs

Legs eleven!

Domestic morning - washing, cleaning, a little gardening, sorting etc then late afternoon I headed out to see a kneeling chair that a local was selling.  It's been two or three weeks since we first made contact but we've struggled to co-ordinate times.  I really thought we had it today but when I got to their place.........no-one home :(  At least the Boulder Bank was nearby so I did a spot of stilt watching.  There are two who appear to have nested very close to the 'regular' walking track along the BB and they 'reminded' me a couple of times not to get to close.  The longer I sat though, the more curious one of them became until it was only about six or seven metres away.  I can see what I think is the nest but I don't think they can have eggs yet as both adults spent almost all the time in the pond feeding........they're certainly not going to let anyone get near enough to look either!

In COVID news it was the news we didn't want to hear though I think most people knew it would happen - we had a case identified on the South Island today........Blenheim.  We're told it's a low risk case as it appears to be the tail end of an infection.  Still, I doubt many will want to take any risks.  In other COVID news, there were a total of 104 community cases today.  We're now sitting at 86% of eligible people having received their first shot and 70% having received both shots.  We were told yesterday that when all DHB's (District Health Boards) have reached 90% double vaccinated, we will all move to a different plan - the COVID-19 Protection Framework (the exception to this is Auckland who, once all three of their DHB's reach 90%, will be able to move).  The new system will work with vaccine certificates and a 3-stage traffic light system though I can't say I've really got my head around the details yet.  We just need to put one foot in front of the other each day.....progress in small steps.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.