The second half of life..

By twigs

Acheron Homestead

Hmmmm . . . . the planned startrail pic was hijacked as I slept by a pack of rogue clouds who swept across the skies! You get to see a video by-product of the exercise . . . . . pretty rubbish lighting but this is learning in action!

Instead, this is the homestead at the southern end of the Molesworth Station - the second campground for my trip. The homestead is fascinating - people really were very short 100 years ago! There's still some old wallpaper on some of the walls and there's teh remains of an old cast iron kitchen stove although neither of these things may be 100 years old I guess. Nice piece of pioneer history though.

The trip out of the station was pleasant enough although the scenery was very tame compared to yesterday. I arrived at Hanmer Springs thinking it might be nice to relax overnight there but it was heaving with people - so not my scene at all so I headed on towards Murchison where I'm staying tonight.

There's even been some rain as I've driven today so hopefully that will help to alleviate the drought conditions :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.