FESTIVE

The Mono Monday theme today is festive.  My blip shows some small metal Russ Berrie Christmas figures. I bought these  around 60 years ago from a newsagents shop in the village. I saved up my pocket money and bought a figure when I could afford one.  They originally had boxes but those got battered and torn so had to be thrown out. These figures are put on display every year during the festive season.  Thanks to laurie54 for hosting.

Ive had a busy-ish day.  Had an appointment with the nurse this afternoon.( blood test and blood pressure check) I decided to go to the bank before my appointment to pay some coins in.  Got to the bank in good time .... big queue. Only one cashier working.  Stood for ages and the queue never moved.  So I had to leave the bank and head for the Health Centre.  At that stage I did think I might have time to nip back to the bank after seeing the nurse.  My appointment was for 10 past 2.  Bank closes at half past 2.

The Health Centre was chaos.  There was one person  ahead of me waiting at the reception desk.  No receptionists to be seen.  There's a bell to push to summon a receptionist from the back room.  The guy in front of me  pushed the bell a few times but no-one came for ages.  He wanted a prescription he had been promised.  The receptionist looked for a while but couldn't find it ... she said she would try and track it down and give him a ring.  So he left without getting what he needed.  Then this receptionist disappeared. By this time another 6 people had joined the queue behind me. After a while another receptionist came out and said if you had an appointment you could use self check in machine.  The last few times Ive been to Health Centre this machine hasn't been working so I assumed it wasn't today.  It would have been helpful if there had been a notice to say it was back in action.

I tried to check in on the machine ... wouldn't let me ( probably because by now the time of my appointment had passed ) So I went back to reception desk... waited again.  Finally got told to " take a seat" and after a while I finally saw the nurse.  Three blood pressure readings.... all high.  Blood was taken as well.  Of course by this time it was too late to go back to the bank. 

I walked back home to get my shopping trolley to carry some parcels back down to the village for posting.  Luckily the post office wasn't busy and I got my parcels posted with no trouble at all.  Bit of shopping in Herons and Tesco and then walked back home.  By this time it was dark.  Weather was very calm and mild today.  Not like December at all.

Was ready for a sit down on the sofa with a cold drink and a bag of crisps.  Put the TV on but I didn't watch much as I fell asleep.

Steps today - 12,361

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.