An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Old Photographs...

........

David was up at the crack of dawn to play golf. I didn't even hear him go! I was well zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.

In the afternoon I continued with yesterday's clear out of our old photographs. I also had a huge bag of photos that were my mums, so took the chance to go through them as well.

There were so many photos that made me catch my breath as I saw people from my childhood, family and family friends, who are long gone, smiling back at me. But it was this photo that really stopped me in my tracks. It's my Gran and Grandpa's wedding photo.

Taken on 28th December 1938. I won't repeat myself here but if you want to read a little bit about their day, you will find it HERE.

My grandpa's Best Man was his brother and my gran's Maid of Honour was her sister. And although it didn't happen till a few years after this photo was taken, my grandpa's brother ended up marrying my gran's sister.

One thing that I find so sad when looking at this photograph is the fact my gran and her sister didn't have any flowers but that would have been a luxury too far.

When I think of what gets spent on weddings these days, it seems obscene. Two weddings I know of that took place last year and all the brides could talk about was their wedding "theme". Theme? I thought the theme was getting married! I shall stop there as I feel a rant building and that's not what I intended for this blip.

So, my photos have all been sorted. Well most of them. And a load put in frames. I also have a pile to scan and try and fix in PSE before sending to the printer. I've had a lovely couple of days going through them all and once again I am amazed by the power a single image can wield.

Old Photographs

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.