a town called E.

By Eej

Blustery



The sky looked so crazy it sparked stories about tornadoes - which already made me reluctant to do my usual Monday-around-the-Lake cycle. Then I realised that the brakes on my own bike are now non-existent. So I headed home and tried not to get blown out of the backyard for a bit.
My Goldfinch friend is still around. His eyes look a little better maybe but I'm pretty sure he's almost blind; sometimes he misses the feeder completely, sometimes he lands somewhere that makes no sense - like in the middle of the grass. And then he frantically moves his little head around to see where it was that he REALLY needed to land.
His head makes odd jerky motions constantly - like he has neurological issues. Which, if he really was hurt in an accident (effin' neighbourhood cats), seems entirely plausible.

I take photos if I can, as the shutter freaks him out except when he's on his favourite feeder and too distracted by the sunflower seeds to care. For some reason though, I can't bring myself to Blip him. Sometimes because he makes me want to cry. But today I had a photo where he freaks because of the shutter and if this was a healthy bird I wouldn't have hesitated; it's FUNNY. But it's like I don't want people to make fun of him.

So I'm posting something entirely different. Just because.



Oh yeah, and Margaret Thatcher died. The US media this morning made it seem like the world has lost the most amazing, wonderful person. For a while I was thinking they were talking about a different Margaret Thatcher.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.