Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Derby Day

Kids's billycart derby day at school today. I took the day off work to go and watch with mrs tsuken - and to take too many photos. I've put a few in a set on Flickr.

Including: BEST

Of all of them though, this one appealed the most for some reason. I can't quite pick what it is, but I went with it. Large here.

This afternoon I've been faffing about trying to do what it seems to me ought to be a simple thing: put a DVD in my desktop computer, and watch the movie on my iPad. If I went to the extra trouble of ripping the DVD to a video file on my Mac, I could stream that across my home Wifi network, so streaming video and audio clearly isn't a problem. It puzzles me that streaming from a DVD isn't just as easy; I don't want to have to be bothered with ripping the dvd (and using disk space on my Mac) and importing to iTunes, or navigating to ripped folders, or whatever. I just want it to work. xP

However, with an app called DVDPlayer on my iPad, and its acompanying server app on my Mac, it seems it does work. Not ideally (lacking menus and navigation and such), but pretty well. I've got the free version at the moment, and we'll see how well it works, and what limitations it has compared to the $10 full version.

Also: cannot be looked away from.

And a big lump of excellentness: an iOS synth called Bebot has just been updated to work with AudioBus. Bebot was the quite obvious inspiration for Morphwiz, which remains my favourite iOS synth, but is not AudioBus-compatible, so I can only record it at home, using my Mac. Bebot will enable me to play similar sounds, in the same way, and send them to other apps. For Great Justice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.