Thank You For the Days ..

By Fyael

Vestiges

Sunshine and a light breeze this morning, felt moved to wash my collection of silk scarves. Easier to do them en masse, and a good blow makes for less ironing.(Extra)

TM needed to go to town for the Saturday paper, and I went with him to explore the beginning of a walk that I think could be an alternative to my regular hike up the hill. After that, we somehow found ourselves in Naked Sourdough eating croissants ...

The afternoon started with a sharp shower, but then brightened up, and we thought a short walk was in order. We've always meant to explore the ruins of Roxburgh Castle,  along at Kelso. Not having consulted the map, we parked at the bottom and went straight up a very steep mound (TM had to give me a hefty push a couple of times to stop me tipping over backwards, luckily it's not very high). 

There's not much left standing, just a few bits of the walls. But the views are good. The Tweed flows to the north and the Teviot to the south, a great defensive position.  We caught another shower up there, luckily there was a handy bit of ruin to shelter under, and I got a shot of the rainbows that followed.

The large pile on the far side of the Tweed is Floors Castle, home of the Dukes of Roxburgh. I wonder how much it costs to heat a place that size...

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.