NigelHarvey

By NigelHarvey

Jacobs Ladder

It seems that steps and stairs are becoming a regular feature of my daily photographs. Not surprising I suppose - it's Edinburgh. This is Jacobs Ladder, a steep staircase running from Regent Road down to Calton Road. I have counted the steps, but I can't remember how many there are - well over a hundred anyway. That's Waverley Station at the bottom - the stairs come out on to Calton Road below the level of the railway tracks, so that gives some idea of the length of descent.

I spotted a cemetery yesterday to explore, and I went there on the way to this shot. I took a number of reasonable shots, but it's the same old story - it's usually one of the last shots I take that gets posted, and todays photograph was literally the last one of the day. Never mind, I will return to the cemetery. I'm beginning to think that I need a theme to my daily photographic excursions, and cemeteries and graves may well provide that theme. We'll see. Meanwhile....


LARGE

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.