My Wonderful Dad!

Today its my Dad's 74th Birthday and he's still going strong :)

I thought I'd post this picture of him. I think it was taken in the 60's when he was at University in Oxford!

He even still works part time, though he officially retired in October last year! Lucky to be doing a job that he loves in Cambridge University, and they have kept him on :)

I thank God for my Dad.

A few years ago he had a lump in his leg, originally he thought it was a bite. He saw 3 different GP's about it and it was only when the third one said, this is a bit strange, lets do some tests, that it got taken further!

It was a squamous bone cancer, which is a rare cancer. He was referred to London hospital (I forget which one) for surgery.

As they went to operate they warned him (and us) that they may have to amputate above knee! Thankfully and Praise God they managed to remove all of it without having to do that :) Of course he had to go through radiotherapy for several weeks afterwards, and later in the following year was covered in bruises due to an extremely low cell count (can't remember which one), and had to have emergency blood transfusions.

He still has to have check ups regularly but there is no sign of the cancer returning, for which I am really grateful! It was lucky that the 3rd GP he saw actually thought something was not quite right!!!

To this day my Dad is still very active in cycling everywhere (as you do in Cambridge), dancing and playing squash/badminton regularly. He also enjoys dabbling in photography and french polishing furniture :)

He's a brilliant Dad and from when we were very small until even now, still keeps an eye on what we (my brother and I) are doing, advising us from time to time and even helping out when times are hard financially :)

Happy Birthday Dad![/b

Thank you so much for all your comments, stars and faves on Celebration Billy Day! We reached the top row of the second page on Spotlight :):)

Its Saturday, have a great weekend folks :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.