Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Queen of the Hill!

This morning we woke to the news that our garden shed at church had been burned down at 5am. Fortunately a neighbour had been woken by the noise and phoned the firebrigade who were there in 6 minutes. Amongst other things, we had wine chairs and hymn boards stored in it, all beautiful oak, not to mention the Christmas tree decorations and all the spare hanging flower baskets for Christmas and Easter - no doubt we'll find we weren't covered. I don't know why we bother to pay insurance these days, everything always seems to be excluded for some reason or other!
I ordered some water lilies, lotus as my friends in India know them, a few days ago and they arrived today. Planting them is a job for another day though.
I took a bottle of wine round to the neighbour who spotted the fire, to say thank you. I do think it is so important to acknowledge such things.
The girls and their parents are off skiing tomorrow, planes, ground crew and security permitting. I do hope they get away, they've worked right through the last two years and this is the only week both parents could both get off all year.
Cleo is going to have some dental work at the vets on Monday, under a GA, so I got her cat basket out so that it wasn't strange for her. She moved straight in and went to sleep. Bet it's not that easy on Monday morning!!
Oh and apparently I've won a 3 course meal for 4, not including alcohol, at The Chophouse in Leith!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.