Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Delightfully Downy

It would be hard not to like these woodpeckers - friendly, cute and tiny.  They measure on average 6 inches tip to tail and are shockingly unafraid of humans.  And of course, there is the cuteness factor.  As best I can tell, we have at least two pairs hitting the feeders this spring and that means, if all goes well, there will be several batches of equally cute babies coming around in a few months.  This is a female, easily identified by the lack of the red cap that the males have.  Common throughout North America.

Today was another cold, super windy day and I am afraid to say that I couldn't muster the enthusiasm for a walk so I've been entertaining Jax in other ways.  We've done some training, some nose work, several games of ball in the yard and some enrichment toys.  I may break out a cardboard box later - something he can shred.  

I zipped out this afternoon and picked up the barium solution that I have to drink in prep for the CT scan on Friday.  It seems that I have to drink the first dose tomorrow night.  And I suspect that it will taste nasty in spite of it being "mocha flavored".  I also got my second Covid Booster which pretty much guarantees I will feel crappy tomorrow.  Working my way through the Outlander series of books, so I have plenty of reading material in case I feel poorly.

Had to spend some time this morning sorting out a technology problem with our new Verizon 5G internet box.  Once I finally got a live person, the fix was easy.  Just wish it didn't take so much time to get an actual person to talk to!

Also caught up with my niece this morning.  Baby #3 is due next month which is exciting.  We are planning a trip down to visit them in S. Carolina in July - looking forward to that.

Dark with dried tart raspberries today, German.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.