D'aicí enfòra

By chaiselongue

Roots

This is where I spent childhood summers, rambling on the mountain, running free on open moorland near the remote cottage where my parents were living when I was born, sometimes swimming in the chill waters of this lake, a complete contrast from the rest of the year spent in flats in Benghazi and Istanbul with outings to the Mediterranean. My father traced his father's family here back to 1700, so the assumption must be that we were here long before that too. Today the south wind blew hard across the lake whipping drizzle into our faces and camera lenses, but I needed to make contact with my roots.

Southwards again then for a lovely evening staying with friends, catching up over a delicious meal, wine, talk, laughter..... so this is a backblip.

I've put a wider view of the lake here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.