Whan That Aprille.....

I did go out with my camera today en route for some shopping at Morningside, but found it took so much effort to keep myself upright in the gale funnelling up Morningside Road that any thought of stopping to take a blip was a call too far.

And now it's raining. It may just be an April shower, which brings to mind, a piece of poetry by Chaucer once learned to pass English exams, but which I am now happy and able to remember when I've forgotten what I had for supper last night -

'Whan that Aprille with his shoures sote,
The droghte of Marche has perced to the roote'


But showers or not, I've given up on the windy outdoors and will have to make do with the carnations gracing the window sill.

Edit: I've just looked back at my journal entry for two years ago and am confronted by an avenue of wonderful cherry blossom. How different from today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.