Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Bring on the ladies!

Not a pollinator, I'm afraid - but a beautiful male American Goldfinch in full breeding plumage. Every time I see these birds flitting around my yard, I have to pinch myself just so that I know I'm not imagining things. They are such a vibrant color of yellow (this is untouched other than a crop, SOOC) in the summer and they stay in small flocks most of the year. Today, when I looked out, there were a dozen or so at the feeders - like little flying lemon-drops. I stood quietly on the deck and this boy was the first to venture back - this was taken at a distance of about 8 feet.

And what an accommodating subject ... not only did he have on his finest dating-outfit along with his snappy black cap ... but he even sang and danced for me!

Had a nice walk with the Audubon group this morning - didn't see much, but it was good to be out in nature. Unfortunately, the temps today never got much higher than about 52F with a heavy cloud cover and a stiff breeze. Had to bundle up a bit for the walk and when I got home, the only bees were a few sluggish bumblebees. So my plan to photograph bees was a bust today. However, don't you think a black and yellow bird is a good substitute for a black and yellow bee?

Thanks for the kind comments on my last two street-scene blips. Although nature photography will probably always be my first love, it is really fun to do some different things. In fact, I find myself itching to try my hand at some candid portraits. Have to get over my fear of asking people if I can photograph them.

Hoping everyone has/had a good Thursday ... it's almost the weekend!!

xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.