Views of my world

By rosamund

Sunrise

Every night is followed by sunrise...

It was a beautiful peaceful morning on the river, just the sound of the seagulls and the polythene bags doing their gentle dance tumbling along the esplanade on the breeze.

I had trouble choosing a location this morning as I wasn't sure where exactly the sun would appear, I'm amazed how far round it is. It's a glorious morning with not a cloud in the sky so I was glad when the river provided me with some boats to add interest. I just missed two tugs and caught the pilot boat and a tanker as well as this wee one which looked the best silhouetted against the rising sun.

Official sunrise time this morning was 6.03am but it was 6.16am before the top arc of the sun appeared above the hills on the other side. Soon the river and all the houses on the Esplanade were flooded with light. I encountered people for the first time today on my sunrise shoots, both older men. One kept his head down and shuffled past dressed head to foot in waterproofs and looked like he had business somewhere. The other was more of an ambler meandering along and back, we said Good Morning when our paths first crossed and again as I headed back to the car once the sun filled the sky. At this point he said "now all we need's the sun, eh?" In a tone that made we wonder if he was perpetually dissatisfied? I mustered up as much politeness as I could to say "sun, you got, it, it's right there and it's not going anywhere" Is it possible to live in Scotland so long that you can't actually recognise a glorious sunny day when you see one?? Made me laugh!

Got a Head Teachers seminar in the local authority today with a focus on Getting It Right For Every Child so should be a good day. Have a great one blippers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.