Global Attitude

By GlobalAttitude

Not Quite Pizza

But close enough :)

So I confessed a few weeks ago that I've gone low-carb to drop the extra expat weight. It's been almost four weeks and I've been a very good girl, sticking to healthy eating habits and continuing to exercise regularly.

So far, I've shed 11 pounds (about 5 kilos). I've got at least 9 lbs more to go, ideally 12. While slow and grueling, I'm pleased with the progress and expect to meet my goal by the start of summer.

One of the things I miss most is pizza. The only part of it, though, that is strictly against my diet is the crust. So I've gotten creative with the toppings and find I am fairly satisfied with the compromise.

Today I sautéed onions, garlic, red peppers, and pepperoni (salami) then drained the grease and spread the warm mixture over a bed of fresh baby spinach. Then I added sliced cherry tomatoes, a few capers, cracked black pepper, and a combination of some low-fat feta cheese and shredded sharp white cheddar. A minute under the broiler to melt the cheese, and presto! I had the best part of the pizza.

A friend once told me about a cauliflower pizza crust that she loves, but I still need to look up the recipe (and find good cauliflower). For now, my spinach salad "pizza" hit the spot.

Now I better hit the trails and earn my Friday evening wine indulgence!
Happy Weekend, Friends :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.