An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Got potential...

Caught up at last!  

Wifi is a bit temperamental so between that and not wanting to spend a long time on line (seems rude) I have fallen even further behind on blip!  Please forgive me :-) 

I am being the early bird this week and second day in a row I was the first up, showered and dressed.  I am delighted David had getting the chance of a lie in as he never does at home.

Once we were all organised it was time to enjoy our full Scottish breakfast including the world famous Stornoway black pudding.  Oh my, it is soooooo good!

With today being Sunday and the Hebrides being deeply religious islands, everything is closed, so we decided just to go for a drive today finding places we will revisit in the coming week.

We did a circular tour heading south from Stornoway then heading west, taking in Callanish standing stones, The Blackhouses at Carloway and the beaches at Dal More and Dal Beag to name a few.  

Once we returned to Stornoway we sought out the road to the Iolaire Monument (commemorating the loss of over 200 soldiers returning from World War One, when their boat hit rocks at Holm Point, within sight of Stornoway)  It is one of the saddest war stories I've ever heard and last time we were here I wasn't able to get to the monument, but the new path, opened in April this year, means I will be able to get there.  

Home for dinner and making plans for the rest of the week.  D & K playing golf in the morning.  The weather forecast for the afternoon has chanced from dry to rain so our plan to head up to the Butt of Lewis will probably change.  

Stornoway seagull in extras.  It was sitting preening itself in front of us at the harbour.  For some reason it made me laugh :-)

Hushnish

Harris Gin

Lews Castle

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.