An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Hushnish...

Backblip

I can't believe it's our last full day at this beautiful house in Harris.  The time has flown by.  Thank heavens we still have a week in Lewis to look forward to.

Since we have to be out of the house by 10am this morning, we made a start on packing.  After lunch we drove back along the road to Hushnish.  Sadly there was no sign of the cows that usually roam the road near the beach but there was a heard of 6 deer.  They were far away and blended right into their surroundings, so I didn't bother taking any photographs.

There are so many special places on Harris but Hushnish holds a special place in my heart.  I have no idea why, but when we visited the first time I was captivated by the beach in this small bay.  I could sit and gaze at this scene for hours and hours in all weathers.

David, Ele and Kenny went for a wander on the beach but I just sat beside the sheep and gazed and breathed and felt the magic of this place seep into my bones.  I will carry that feeling with me and any time I feel the need to retreat inside my head, this is where I'll be.

After a while it was time to say goodbye to Hushnish and head back too the house to get organised for dinner at the North Harbour Bistro on Scalpay.  David and I ate there the last time we were here and had one of the best meals we've ever had.  We've been looking forward to returning ever since.

The Bistro is the most unassuming place from the outside, in fact on our last visit, if we hadn't been told about its amazing reputation we would probably have driven on past, not realising how fantastic it is. 

It's equally unassuming inside but when the best, freshest and tastiest seafood is being served up, fancy surroundings are completely superfluous (menu in extras)

The place was mobbed (booking ahead always advised) and once again the food didn't disappoint.  We had a wonderful evening.  It was the perfect end to our week on Harris.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.