Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

R/V Thomas G. Thompson

The Research Vessel, "Tommy Thompson" resides in Portage Bay moored to a UW dock when it's not out in the Ocean doing scientific research with UW Oceanography students onboard. It's 274 Ft in length, has a 52.5 Ft beam and at full load a 19 Ft. draft. Normal cruising speed is 11 knots, and carries 21 officers and crew, 2 technicians and up to 36 scientists. We have heard a lot about it and their wonderful trips in our Oceanography classes and we often see it up close when we row past.

Today we woke up to beautiful blue skies, so I took my little camera with me on a morning row. Just as we were rowing by this ship which was getting ready to leave,(1 short whistle) her whistle blew five short loud blasts. This means "I am in doubt about your action taken to avoid collision.!" Note the quad rowing shell and launch right next to her! they moved away, but slowly.

Otherwise, life as usual. H went to the Ocean class, I'm trying to catch up with my computer, we pick up the granddaughters from school today. But I couldn't resist the early blip of this really fine boat! A good day to be out on Earth Day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.