Afternoon Constables

After a busy morning I walked into town to buy some lunch and see if there was anything going on to mark St George's day.

Lovely sunshine and then I saw this. (yes I know I have blipped it before). I had a chat with the owner, he said he has two of them as Sir Clive gave him one of everything he ever made ( and then he bought a second as he liked the first so much ). That would usually be enough, however I'd just left the office and so continued into town where I saw it again, parked up.. I wonder how it would go with the engine from the old mower in it.

As you would expect Cambridge was very busy, many, many tourists but nothing I wanted to take a picture of and certainly nothing St George related. So I got a sandwich, walked into the sunshine to eat it and spotted this lot, marching onto Trinity St from Kings Parade.

They were clearly on a mission which I did not want to interrupt however there was another one waiting just behind them so I went up and had a chat.

He was very helpful and explained that they are University Constables. Or 'Bulldogs' In olden times they would deal with any University crime whilst the normal police would deal with town folk. Fascinating stuff. Read the link!

Constables


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.