After The Lord Mayor's Show...

Short of time? Skip to the end!

So let's start with last night and the rugby, which we watched on TV. I had been excited and optimistic for it - until I saw the opposition, Leeds Rhinos, warming up. The body language and conversations that were happening and their expressions said they meant serious business! You'd have thought it was a Grand Final they were preparing for, not a regular weekly round. They have struggled this season and lost last time out to Toulouse. But generally their form in the past few games has been improving, this was their first home game in six weeks due to laying of a new pitch and some of their injured stars were returning. Their always vociferous home crowd were in ebullient mood. I said to Brian "We had better be bringing our A-game or we are going to get thrashed here!"

We did not bring our A-game, or even our B-game! I think there was a bit of a complacent hangover from last weeks' triumphant, record breaking effort and this week we were talking Z-list. 

The eventual score was 42-12 to Rhinos. Half of the points difference we had accrued last week wiped off at a stroke. I was as upset as I was joyful last week and wondered if we'd been found out as nowhere near where we thought we were. In the cold light of day I am seeing it as more of an "off day" that we can learn from and not repeat, but be sharpened by and go on and win things. Time will tell...

Come bed-time all the cogs were turning in my brain and I could not get to sleep. I managed exactly 5 hours, according to my Fitbit, yet still got a "good" sleep score of 80! 

When I went to make my breakfast this morning the milk was like cottage cheese due to my having less coffees while it has been hot. Never mind, I decided to go to the Co-op and take my camera too so I could nip to the park and sort out an early Blip as I have work later. I grabbed my purse and a key from the hook in the hall and off I went!

On returning home I discovered to my horror that the key did not work! (I have no idea what it is for - it has a keyring of mine on it so it can only be either an old one of my Dad's or a past workplace!) I knocked on the door but Zeph, who is on holiday this week, was sound asleep and even the Hammer of Thor would not wake him!

I did not have my phone so I went to see if I could find a call-box. There are none locally of course, and I decided to walk to Jewson's, completely forgetting until I spoke to one of Bri's colleagues that he is on a course in Retford this morning! At this point I was distraught, but as I started the long trudge back and pondered my next move, the whole situation suddenly seemed like a minor third world problem, not the end of the world and indeed  highly hilarious! Very inconvenient but survivable! And at least it was no longer desert conditions out there - on the cool side if anything!

So back home and Zeph was still far away in the land of Nod. I decided my best course of action, despite being unwashed and unkempt was to go have breakfast in town. This I did, then home again to find that the door was finally unlocked!

I have done 13000 steps and I have a potentially busy Friday at work to come with a colleague who is most likely to be highly stressed due to having to work solo the past two nights! Wish me luck, y'all!

I took the photo on the way back  from Jewson's via the grounds of the hospital. I hope no-one needs the air ambulance for a while.

TLDR: My team lost. I was pee'd off, didn't sleep. Locked myself out first thing this morning, resulting in a 5.7 mile route march! Not looking forward to work tonight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.