Kit's Year

By Kit267

I Clung On To Our Lovely Diving Instructor

Sushi and I got to do Sushi’s Christmas present today which was a scuba diving session in Dassia. It’s something I have always wanted to do since announcing at primary school when my friends wanted to be nurses or hairdressers that I wanted to be a deep sea diver…Jaques Cousteau was my childhood hero.

Sushi wanted to have a go because he loves all things nature and is considering going for his PADI qualification and maybe studying marine ecology as a post graduate, so he wanted to see if he would enjoy it…which he did!

We left Mr Kit, Eldest and his partner J on the beach for the afternoon. We had a got kitted up in the dive centre and had a thorough briefing before we headed out to the boat and off across the bay to another beach. There were 4 of us and 3 instructors, the other couple were more experienced and went off with 2 of the instructors whilst the boss stayed with Sushi and I.

It was an amazing experience, from falling off the boat backwards like a pro to seeing all the amazing fish and coral. Sushi took to it really well and after about 15 minutes was off on his own, I wasn’t quite so comfortable and didn’t feel in control so I clung on to our lovely Greek diving instructor the whole time.

As we got back to the beach and finished at the dive centre we were ambushed by Eldest and J who wanted to go on the equivalent of a banana boat but needed another person so roped Sushi in to go with them. I got my second boat trip of the day as I went with the driver to take photos.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.