A MORE OVERCAST DAY

than yesterday but the practive in the garden the same. My red beetle of yesterday I named the black-headed cardinal beetle but now I have to tell that as Specled Coast correctly stated that it is a lily beetle that thrives on lilies and fritillaria also.
A very useful link was added and I know now that the larva do more damage.
A year ago I posted a picture of a triumphant beetle on top of the fritillaria leaf (the flower eaten already) on april 28, 2012. Totally forgotten.
The pictures in my guide did not give me the right clue to who was who given the fact that the angle was so different.
The wallflower is easier to identify and the colours are striking too. Two black beetles went hiding on it.

My haiku:

The caterpillar
Bilious green rolled up and felt
Safe I put her back

And the proverb:

De zon schijnt bij hem/haar in de kelder.

The sun shines in his/her cellar.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.