THE CRANE FLY

had landed on the stone putto statue in our garden and stayed there for some time.
The day was grey and I made my little tour camera in hand, distributing oatmeal flakes for who would care to eat these. The blackbirds of course.
My rest seems to do me really good.
An uneventful day till half an hour ago, when I saw and heard the fire engines start at the other side of the valley. To my surprise they came our way and stopped two houses away from us.
No fire to see really, we were of course curious and went outside to have a look.
There was no fire and neither something bad had happened to the old lady that lives at the third floor in the house. There had been a reason of course why the neighbours had made the emercency call, but in the end we were all happy that all was well.
Mischa's picture of last Saturday in her cookiemonster costume happens to be one of the Staff Pics of this week. Happy congratulations Mischa! We have had so much fun that afternoon.

My haiku:

Sometimes I search in
Vain today I caressed my
Finger Sleep tight dear

And the proverb:

In vain they rise early that used to rise late.

1611 in: J. Davies, (of Herford) The Scourge of Folly

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.