Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Passion

A strange day today and one I never expected to spend the way I did. I turned the TV on at 10.45 as the Queen's cortege left Westminster Hall and I didn't turn it off again till after 5pm.
I found both services to be very meanimgful and the lack of commentary refreshing. The Royal siblings were remarkable, they must be exhausted yet they still managed those two long slow walks. I hope they now have some time to be together as a family to mourn. I also found the small section of the coverage when the cortege started again on a quiet road just outside Windsor to be quite moving . All that ceremony and almost nobody there to see it. (apart from the millions on tv I know!)

I have to say that I am astounded just how good the weather has been since the Queen died, hoe different it would all have been in the rain. My extra is some shots from the BBC1 TV coverage which caught my eye. On seeing the beautiful tunics the heralds were wearing I did think that this would be a good time to be in the business of producing heraldic embroidery.

.... and did you notice that Westminster Abbey and St George's Chapel have the same floor tiles? I particularly noticed because the lack of symmetry in the positioning of the seating at Westminster which offended my eye!

My main blip today is a little ahead of itself but I'm so thrilled by it. My new passionflower in the garden has six flower buds on it! I hope the slightly warmer temperatures forecast will encourage the buds to open.

I'm feeling much better today, thank you for all the good wishes, I've still no appetite but that may be a good thing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.