Canopus

Canopus is the second brightest star after Sirius. It circles the South Pole and is always visible from here when the sky is dark and clear. My eyes naturally turn to it when conditions are right because it is so beautiful. Not only is it bright, but also it sparkles, flashing the colours of precious jewels.

I saw it when I went to get my paper from the gate. It was dark enough to see my moon shadow, but by the time I set up the camera dawn was beginning. I tried making a movie of Canopus, but with the focus set at infinity the star came out as a blob pulsating colours.

A partly sunny, warm day, but days of cold weather are predicted. I spent the morning cutting firewood, ten barrow loads this time. This afternoon was spent working in the garden. My son helped too. He mowed the lawns, line trimmed grass that is too strong for my trimmer, and cut up three huge knotty logs that were beyond me. All very satisfying.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.