Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...Peep

I wish I could give you all sorts of interesting info on this little frog, but the truth is that I am not even sure what kind of frog it is ... maybe a leopard or a pickerel? If anyone knows, would appreciate an ID. I'll send it over to my guy at Audubon tomorrow and see if he can ID it for me... I just got confirmation that this is a young American Toad - probably recently arrived in this world, based in the small size. cool! Anyway, Hubs spotted him when we were out on one of the hiking trails at Kittatinny - not sure how he even spotted the little guy. The toad was only about an inch long and was probably traumatized for life when I picked him up and held him in my hand to get a better look. I can't believe I picked up a Toad!!! Blip has forever changed my world...

In other news today...

I was able to see Mama chickadee leave the nest box this afternoon and so I hurried over with a mechanics mirror ... and counted EIGHT eggs in the nest! Wow! Not sure how long she's been brooding, but I'd guess a week which means that hatching could start sometimes next week. I'll try to get another peak when the chicks have hatched, and then will leave the box alone until they fledge. Chickadee chicks are prone to early fledging if disturbed in the box so it is recommended that monitoring stop about a week after hatching.

I chummed for blue jays on the deck ... and was immediately rewarded with several of the blue guys.

Went down to the local farm and bought a few pots of small dahlias and zinnias which are now planted and looking incredibly summer-like. Also started about 20 zinnia seeds which will hopefully sprout in the next week or so and are destined for the garden. My bee balm and bergamot is coming up in the butterfly garden, along with a lot of other things - yay.

Hoping you've all had a great weekend! I've truly appreciated the comments on my last several blips - it has been very fun to step out of my comfort zone these last few days.

xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.